Well, I’m going to have a lot of free time…

Posted: September 20, 2014 in Uncategorized

I am, at this moment, in the most pain I have been in as far as my recent memory goes.

Two days ago, I woke up and my neck was sore. No big deal, our mattress is old and that kind of stuff happens all the time. So I didn’t think anything of it.

Yesterday, a bump appears on my neck in the same area that was sore the day before.
‘Oh, it looks like a spider or something bit me. Well, that explains why my neck was sore!’

But the soreness won’t go away, and in fact, it was getting worse.

Today I woke up and the pain was easily 150% more than it was the two previous days, the bump is now red as is the area around it.

Pain is now radiating around half my neck, down my left arm and into my chest and now I’m starting to think I’m in trouble.

My wife demands I go to urgent care.

Well, it turns out it’s not a spider bite, nor is it an allergic reaction, and just like an episode of House it’s sure not Lupus.

It’s fucking Shingles.

I want you to close your eyes for a moment and try to imagine what it would feel like to have someone performing the equivalent of a root canal with red hot barbed wire through your neck. That’s about how much pain I’m in WITH the Vicodin.

So, needless to say I’m not going to be of much use to anyone over the next week or more, so I’ll have lots of time to write…in theory.

Leave a Reply

